Skip to content

Monsters!

October 10, 2010

Hayden and Elliot

My three-year old seems convinced that there are monsters in our house. He has woken up at about 2am almost every night for the past four weeks and it is really starting to take a toll on all of us! This may have something to do with the spooky Halloween decorations everywhere or the fact that my hubby thought “Little Monsters” was an age proper movie for a three-year old. Really, a movie about monsters living under your bed and you don’t think our child is going to get scared by this? Men never cease to amaze me in that factor! I will say though, after they watched it Nick did say that it was scarier then he remembered! I think he would think twice about his movie choices if he was the one who was always getting up with our children, but alas he has to work in the morning.  In his defense, he does get up with the kids sometimes, it just depends on what we have going on the next day. Also on the weekends (when he is home!) he gets up with the kids and lets mommy, get some much-needed rest!  I can’t complain too much though, my 3 month old sleeps from 9pm until about 5am. My three yr old is the one that keeps waking up, so really I end up getting up at least twice a night anyways (once with Hayden and once to pump). So Elliot being a good sleeper is a moot point!

Elliot

I know some moms are probably thinking, just let him sleep with you if he is scared.  However, I am not a mother who lets her kids sleep with her unless there is no other option.  I think a child should sleep in their own room. Not only does it help them sleep better, but Nick and I sleep better without being kicked all night! It also gives them time to themselves and teaches them to be more independent, even Elliot has slept in his own room since he was 8 weeks old.  I take pride in our bedtime routine (bath, brush teeth-Hayden, boob or bottle Elliot, book and bed) and how smoothly and effortlessly my children go to sleep. Well, that is until this whole MONSTER fiasco came about!

You maybe wondering what I am doing to try to reassure Hayden that there are not monsters in his room. I have tried just telling him there are no monsters, but logics are just not cognitively there yet.  So I have developed a monster repellent! Also known as, a bottle full of water that I spray under the bed and in the closet. I got this idea from the babycenter website ( http://www.babycenter.com/6_your-3-1-2-year-old-facing-fears_1389514.bc ) and it really does seem to make him feel a little better. He usually falls right back to sleep after a quick spray around the room and he has even told his Grandma Pam about the “monster spray”.  He said, “monster spray makes the monsters melt when you spray them with it.” I guess sometimes you just have to play or make it all a game, so they forget about their fear. I just hope that this phase passes soon so we can all get a little more sleep, although I don’t think there is such thing as “enough sleep”.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 2:47 am

    I love the monster-repellent idea! It’s amazing how “play” can make so many things easier. I’m reading the book Playful Parenting right now, and it’s sort of changing the way I handle Adeline. Being playful is just not my strong suit! It’s been said that even when I was younger, I sometimes turned down playing with friends to reading a book! 🙂 It’s something I have to consciously work at.

    Wish Bea was sleeping that well!

Leave a Reply

