Skip to content

Contemplating Banana Bread

October 27, 2010

Our family loves banana bread! There are many recipes for banana bread and I have probably tried 10 different ones in hopes of figuring out which one produces the best end product. After all the ones I tried online and from cookbooks, the best one I found was from a cookbook from the community that I grew up in.  It seems that sometimes the best things are right in front of you and you don’t even know it!  

From: "Getting a Head Start in Cooking" you can tell we use this one a lot!

This recipe is from a cookbook that the area Head Start was selling. My mom, who is a Head Start teacher, also has some recipes in this one. It is such a yummy banana bread recipe and so simple to make. Most of the time, I have all the ingredients needed to produce this chewy, moist treat for my family. I must admit I do not use this recipe to make bread loaves, but usually turn it into muffins. It makes it easy to grab on the go and is the right size for a snack!

Every time I use those old cook books, it is like a little taste of home because these are the same things my mom used to make when I was growing up. They were also the cookies you bought at a local bake sale, or even that favorite salad you had at the church potluck. Another thing I enjoy doing is reading them and thinking about the person who put the recipe in the cookbook (since it is a small community, I more than likely know whose recipe it is). It is sad that some of those people are no longer with is, but the recipes will always be in my cupboard and passed on to the next generation!

All this reminds me of a quote from a book that I love: 

 “People disappear when they die. Their voices, their laughter, the warmth of their breath, their flesh, eventually their bones. All living memory of them ceases. This is both dreadful and natural. Yet for some there is an exception to this annihilation. For in the books they write they continue to exist. We can rediscover them. Their humor, their tone of voice, their moods. Through the written word they can anger you or make you happy. They can comfort you. They can perplex you. They can alter you. All this, even though they are dead. Like flies in amber, like corpses  frozen in ice, that which according to the laws of nature should pass away. Is, by the miracle of ink on paper, preserved. It is a kind of magic.”
~ from “The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield

It is strange that something as simple as a banana bread recipe can bring back so many memories. It helps me remember my past and keeps me connected to a community that I was so much a part of while I was growing up!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 2:00 am

    Great post! I LOVED The Thirteenth Tale! And we just made banana muffins, too.

Leave a Reply

