Skip to content

[L]phant costume

November 1, 2010

This year for Halloween Hayden wanted to be an elephant. I searched in our local stores and even online, but I could not find one that was reasonably priced or that just looked good! So I decided to try to make him one. Boy was I completely unaware of what I was getting myself into. I like to sew, but I do not make things other than pillows and square quilts. Basically anything that is straight and simple. Since my sewing machine is still under the weather (been over a year now!) I enlisted the help of my mother! I’m not going to lie, she did the everything but put the ears, trunk and tusks on. We did not have much time to do it, so it did not turn out  as straight and nicely stitched as we would have liked but I think is still looks pretty good and Hayden loved it! It was a lot of work, but it has made me want to make costumes for my kids every year. Next time, I’m going to start more than 2 weeks before Halloween, then maybe I could have made a costume for Elliot too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 2:07 am

    What a wonderful costume! I’m so impressed you had time to do that. I had big dreams of making vegetable costumes for me, Jake, and Adeline (to go along with Bea’s pea costume which I got at a rummage sale) … but I could not find the time to do it! Hopefully next year…

    • November 3, 2010 3:57 am

      I wish I could say I made it all by myself, but my mom did most of it! I just put the face together. I had all the intentions to do it myself, but of course there is just not enough time in the days!

Leave a Reply

