Skip to content

right now

November 9, 2010

From Making Life : right now

Ever since Elliot was born, my dog Dexter has been nothing but trouble. He has started biting strangers, marking around the house, dragging stuff out of the trash, and eating food from the table when it is left unattended. These things have made us consider giving him up, which breaks my heart to think about.

But right now, I’m thinking of all the good things he does. He cheers me up when I am sad, he lets Hayden hang all over him and “play” with him, he follows me from room to room to keep an eye on me, he keeps me warm when he sits by me, he plays with Kirby (our other dog), he makes a wonderful garbage disposal/vacuum cleaner when food is dropped on the floor and he is just so darn handsome! He is trouble, but I love him anyways!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 5:59 pm

    When we first moved out here we could not take our dogs and I I missed them so much. I ended up having to give one away and it still breaks my heart. She was a handful, but her not being a part of my family was heartbreaking.

    I was so glad when we finally got our other dog back. I was like, “yes, someone else to clean up after the kids when they are done eating.”

    It is such a hard choice to have to make. My mom has a biter. She does daycare and the dog does not like when when parents come to pick up their kids and he would nip the parents. My mom has to kennel him at that time of day.

    Gook luck with your decision.

    • November 9, 2010 7:03 pm

      It is a very hard decision to make, because the do become part of your family. For now, I’m going to just spread myself even thinner and try to give Dex the attention he needs.
      He just does not like adult men! He is great with kids! The biting started when my hubby was gone for a month and it was just the me and the kids, both of my dogs became super protective! I can’t really blame them for wanting to protect the family, but it has become a problem. I’ll just have to keep them (Kirby gets protective too) locked up when people come over I guess.

  2. November 10, 2010 2:44 am

    I’m sorry, but, that dog could basically eat one of my kids whole & we’d still keep him…….look at that face!!!

    :0)

Leave a Reply

