Skip to content

Cold weather makes yummy soup

November 11, 2010

such a colorful soup, my camera does not do it justice!

With a change in the weather comes my need for a nice bowl of hot soup. This week I decided to make one of my Husband’s favorite soups, TACO SOUP! I would not call me a chilli person, but I do love me a hearty bowl of taco soup. This is a meal that we both really enjoy. We can keep in the fridge all week and eat a little each day. It is one of those soups that is better the next day! We usually do not give it to Hayden though, because it does have a little bite. It is not strong enough to make you sweat, but has a hint of burning flavor.

a few of the ingredients

Taco soup
1 lb ground turkey or ground beef
4 cups chicken stock
1 can petite cut tomatoes
1 can tomatoes w/green chillies
1/3 cup white onion
1 or 2 cans kidney beans (depends on how beanie you want it)
1 can black beans
1 or 2 cans chilli beans w/sauce
1 can refried beans
1 can of corn (can add 2 if you’d like)
1 can green chilies
1 packet of taco seasoning
1 packet of Ranch dressing seasoning

Toppings
sour cream
Fritos
shredded cheddar cheese

ground turkey

Brown meat and drain. In a crock pot or large pot add chicken stock, meat, onion, tomatoes, all the beans (except the refried beans), corn, chilies, taco seasoning, and ranch dressing seasoning; mix well and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and add the refried beans. serve hot and add toppings!

starting to come together

 
For those of you who garden, home grown vegetables work great for this soup!
 
I wish I could give someone credit for this lovely creation, but it is something that I have made for so long that I do not even know where I found it. Not to mention I have tweaked it through the years, making it more my own!

I am going  to put a warning label on this soup!  It has lots of fiber and with lots of fiber, comes lots of gas! so if you are very gaseous to begin with this soup will intensify that!

yummy toppings

ENJOY!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

