Skip to content

Out with the old

November 22, 2010

I spent this last weekend home, that in its self is amazing! Nick (hunting) and Hayden (with Grandma Pam) were gone, but Elliot and I remained at home. I had big plans for my weekend, since I was only going to have one child. How easy, just one child, right? yeah right, my little man was such a handful.

My big plans were to deep clean our house! I even rented a commercial carpet cleaner from the hardware store so I could get some of the yuck out of my carpet and maybe give them some life again. With that being said, all I got done was one room. That’s it, one room! Elliot refused to take a nap for longer than 20 minutes all day, he thought he needed to eat every 2 hours and would scream and cry if I was not entertaining him or holding him. For anyone who knows Elliot, this is not like him! He is usually really laid back and is just as happy sitting in his excer-saucer as he is sitting on your lap. This change through me for a loop, but I continued to try to at least get one room cleaned well, before I had to return the carpet cleaner (only had it for the day).

I started this project at about 10:30 am and was finally finished at about 5:15 pm. First thing I did was pull everything out of Hayden’s room. All his furniture was piled in the living room and in Elliot’s room. Then I vacuumed the carpets really well, put some spot cleaner on the spots, and ran the carpet cleaner. I wanted to then do the living room, but ran into a problem! I could not put Hayden’s stuff back in his room until the carpet was dry. So I had to wait for everything to dry.

While I was waiting for the floors to dry, I decided to put a headboard on Hayden’s bed.  I got a head-board for him at a thrift store a couple of years ago and gave it a fresh coat of paint, but when we ordered his frame we ordered the wrong kind so we could not use it. I made it work, I got the screw drill out and I attached the head-board directly to the frame.

Then I went through his closets and his toys and got 3 big bags full of clothes and toys to give to Goodwill. With Christmas and Hayden’s Birthday coming up, I knew we were going to have to make room for the new stuff. I was not sparing at all! If it was missing pieces or broken it was either thrown away or donated. Keep in mind that while I was doing this, I was trying take care of a very fussy baby!

Finally after a couple of hours the carpet was dry enough to put stuff back. I decided to change things up and rearranged his room to make it more of a big boy room. We had the bed up against the wall before so he would not fall out of bed, but now it is protruding out into the middle of the room. I am hoping the by doing this, he will not think he need to dump every toy out in the middle of the room. We will see how that goes!

After many hours of hard work, blistered hands and an aching back, I got his room looking great!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 12:03 pm

    I know what you mean. One baby? One baby!? How easy is that? But they do seem to have a sort of sixth sense when we want to get something done…

  2. Pam permalink
    November 22, 2010 1:02 pm

    It looks great, I’ll bet he was excited to see it!!

Leave a Reply

