Skip to content

Thankful for a new day

November 24, 2010

After the mood I was in yesterday and the way I was towards my children and my husband, I am so thankful for a new day. This morning I woke up and had the mommy guilt associated with knowing you screw up. I was stubborn, grumpy, short-tempered and completely unpleasant, but I know I was these things and forgave myself for my actions. That is the only way one can move forward and not dwell on what they cannot change.

Today I am more aware of my actions, more patient and working on responding to my children and not reacting. Sometimes it can be hard to get out of a funk, but it is a good idea to not think about it to much. Focusing on the negative only brings more negative. That is how I am today, deal with the things that arise and don’t over react. It is what it is and you have a choice on how you are going to handle it. Time to be the grown up again!

Sometimes I think parenting is like a messy dance, where the steps are all off. One step forward two steps back, then forward again several steps and next thing you know you are going back again. Maybe someday it will be a beautiful waltz, but until then I have my dancing shoes on and we will see what we come up with!

Thank you God for another day with my wonderful family!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 10:58 pm

    I love your dance metaphor! I always hope that by our 4th or 5th kid, I’ll have it all figured out! 🙂

  2. December 6, 2010 6:41 am

    I love all your pictures and how you are capturing so many precious moments. Keep writing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

