Skip to content

Boys and Snow

December 12, 2010
I just don’t get it, what is so great about snow! Maybe it is because I’m a girl or just have to many other things to do, but snow is just that…SNOW!

Hayden was so excited about the snow he went to check it out without any shoes on!

Nick has been gone a lot lately (the last 7 weekends in a row) and does not get home from work until 5:30 or 6 pm every night, so there has not been much time for him to play with his boys. We had no plans for this last weekend and a blizzard decided to keep it that way!

 The winds were cold and the snow was piling up and all Hayden wanted to do was go outside. After some thought, I decided he could go out and play. I figured he would only stay out for a little while anyways since it was so cold, that was not the case!
Hayden playing in the blizzard

After getting him all bundled up, I threw him into the huge snow drift in the back yard and he just laughed and laughed. From the dining room, I watched as he dug hole after hole and tried to truck through the drifting snow. I made him come in after about 20 minutes of play.  He would have stayed out a lot longer if I would have let him.

The boys building a snow-fort

The next day, the sun came out and everything was covered in snow! Nick and Hayden got their snow gear on and went out to play, leaving me behind in the house. I don’t know when it started, but somewhere alone the line I started to hate snow! It is cold and makes everything around you cold, it gets tracked into the house and makes melted puddles all over the floor and it makes the roads scary to drive on, but for my 3-year-old and his Dad it is chance for them to reconnect!

The start of a pretty cool snow-fort

To my boys snow is a snowman waiting to be built, a snow-fort to keep them out of the wind,  a snowball fight about to happen, a fresh canvas for a snow angel or even a sled ride around the yard.

Throwing a snowball at mom, luckily I was taking pics from the other side of the window

My job during these snowy adventures, is to make sure the hot cocoa is ready and waiting for when they come. I must admit, I love this job more than being in that cold white stuff!

Warming up his insides and his little frostbitten cheeks!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 9:35 am

    I’ve been meaning to ask how you get Hayden outside while little Elliott is around. Jake usually doesn’t get home til dark, so it is up to me to get Adeline out, and I just don’t know how to do it with Bea. On days that aren’t too cold I just bundle her up and take her out with us. But sometimes I just don’t want to take her out but I know Adeline really needs to get out.

    • December 13, 2010 1:35 pm

      Most days I just bundle him up and send him outside to play with the promise that I will watch him. He knows to stay in our yard and where I can see him. I will often sit in the dining room and watch from our patio door and even knock on it and wave at him, so he knows I’m still watching. He likes it when I watch him play, even while he is inside! Sometimes, he will not go out unless I go out. Those days I put Elliot in his high chair with some toys and park him in front of the patio door and watch him from outside with hayden. Sometimes we just wait til nap time and take the baby monitor out with us, just depends! No one ever tells you the best way to do this stuff. It is sometimes trial and error, but this is what works for us and it keeps my baby our of the snow and my 3-yr-old in it!

Leave a Reply

