Skip to content

right now

March 29, 2011

From Making Life : right now

I often worry about what the future holds for me and my family. Although we bought a house almost 3 years ago, I wonder if we are going to stay in the same place forever. We like it here, but still do not feel like we belong to the community yet. I hope that once Hayden starts school we will have something that ties us to this town. It really is a beautiful place!

I also stress about whether I going to have a career or stay home the rest of my life. I love staying at home, but once my children start going to school I do not think I will need to be home all the time. A second income would be helpful and allow us to live more comfortably, but do I want to give up being home when they are home? I continue to go to college to turn my B.S. into a B.S. in nursing just so I have that option, and now Kendra and I have decided to start a hobby photography business. This is something that we have talked about doing before, but never really acted on. Although I am excited to get started I am scared that it will not work out for us and we will just end up spending money on this hobby and never get anything in return. But right now…

I’m getting excited for the future by setting up my in-home-studio and messing with my new lights. Not going to lie, I Really do not know what I am doing but it is fun just to practice.  My kids were going to be my first models, but Kirby was a more willing participant! I hope to get a lot better and will keep everyone updated on our progress.

PS. We still have a long ways to go with this business, but plan on opening in June. Until then Forever Family Photography will be working on its portfolio!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 6:49 pm

    It is scary when you really start thinking about the future. I love the photography biz. idea. I wish you luck with that. I love the picture by the way.

  2. March 29, 2011 6:51 pm

    Also it has taking me till this year, 5yrs later, to start feeling connected to Watertown. What it took us was getting the kids into sports and having a couple years of the same kids age wise playing the same sports together.

    I am sure this would work with any activity you would want to get your kids into, but that is what worked for us 😉

    • March 29, 2011 10:13 pm

      We are hoping to get Hayden into teeball this summer and hopefully he will start preschool in here in the fall so we can get to know some more people in the area! Hopefully that will help us feel more connected! Have a wonderful day!

  3. March 30, 2011 12:30 pm

    Do you need willing subjects to practice on? We’d love to come for a photo shoot! Well, I’d love it, and Adeline would probably be cool … but Bea would probably only be good for practicing on a moving target! Anyway, best of luck to you! You’re such a wonderful photographer!

    • March 30, 2011 6:07 pm

      I do need willing subjects and your beautiful littles would be perfect! Little girls are so much more fun to photograph then little boys (maybe because all I have are little boys and change is nice) but boys are just so wild and don’t hold still long! We will have to set something up, maybe even do a family pic, need willing subjects there too! Sometime mid-May would work great, cause then maybe we can take some outdoor ones as well! You’ll have to let me know your schedule and we can figure something out!

      • March 31, 2011 10:20 am

        Mid-May would be perfect because Jake will be done with school then!

Leave a Reply

