Skip to content

The house that built me

March 30, 2011

The other day I was going through some old photo albums for an assignment for lifespan development (the college class I’m taking). These albums have photos from when I was in high school and looking at them brought back so many memories from the house and town I grew up in.

My family moved away from the town that I was born and raised in about 8 years ago. Because of this I do not get “home” as much as I would like. It is strange that even today, images of that town are still in my head. Every sidewalk, street or alleyway has been traveled by me at least once in my years living there and I’m sure if asked I could draw you a perfect replication of this town, or how is was when we moved anyways .

my cousins and I painting my old house

Since I grew up in a small town (about 550 people), I have always wanted my children to have the same freedom that we had.  We were able to roam freely and never had a worry about anything happening to us, because there was always a neighbor or someone who would look out for us. The sense of community, the pride in ones town and the friends that you make stick with you all your life. I want this for my kids.

Thank God my husband was on board when we started looking for a place to live. We now live in a town of about 1200 people and really love it. Nick has to commute everyday for work and I do for school and my part-time job, but we both love coming home to our quiet town. Walking around town today, I was watching the kids riding their bikes  and playing at the park and it reminded me of my own childhood.

My Dad putting siding on our house. He did most of the work needed on this old house!

I think it is such a treat to go back to my hometown and see how the it has changed. Most of trees are a larger or have been cut down, some of the houses have been torn down, and even my old house looks different to me. The house I grew up in will always be in my heart. It has built me into the person that I am today.  It makes me sad that the things that made it my home are all gone, but the memories will never leave me. 

It is a rule that I cannot leave my hometown without driving by my old house at least twice. We lived in that house for over 15 years, so it is hard not to cry when I think about the fact that it is not ours anymore. There is another family there making new memories and it’s new purpose is to build a new life for someone else!

My childhood home, wish I had a better picture 😦

I hope that we can have a house like that someday. One that whenever we think of it,  are flooded with the simple memories of our everyday lives. Like waking up and running down the stair in the morning for breakfast, the many “gatherings” in the basement, every nick in the wall or squeak in the floor, the things that you learn about an old house while you live there. That house built me!

I’ll leave you to ponder your own childhood homes with one of my favorite songs by Miranda Lambert.

Ps. This post was already published but was not finished. I had some technical difficulties and I was not quite finished so here it is again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna Rist permalink
    April 4, 2011 9:46 pm

    I have so many memories in this house too! Staying in the cloud room and dropping things on “grown-ups” downstairs in the living room, your dad chasing me around the main floor with ice cubes, and always knowing how to walk “home” no matter where we were when our parents got too boring. I was sad to see your parents move too, this house was pretty special to my dad and to me!

    • April 5, 2011 9:23 am

      I remember your visits as well! One time we were all up in our room (kendra and I shared a room at the time) and Kendra and I were quizing you on spelling words! I think you were in like 2nd grade but were spelling at an 8th grade level! it was crazy, I guess the smarts only grew as you grew! we are all so proud of you! I’m glad to here that a place that was so special to our family has its place in your heart too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

