Skip to content

Golden Birthday

August 29, 2011

Today is my Golden Birthday! So yes, that means I’m 29. I still cannot believe that I am that old already. Whenever someone asks me my age, I always seem to think that I am 27 and usually have to stop and think about it. That must be a sign of getting older or maybe just denial!

Anyways, I thought I’d share 29 things that you may or may not know about me! (I stole this idea from my friend Alicia at La Famille)

1. Blue is my favorite color (and yes it is acceptable to still have a favorite color at age 29!)

2. The best thing that has ever happened to me is meeting my husband. Nick has given me so much. Love, companionship,our 2 beautiful boys, all my happiness  stems from that wonderful man!

3. I am really weird about numbers! For some reason or another I have a fear of numbers and when someone starts spouting off numbers to me, I glaze over and completely shut my brain off (this was not good during math class).

4. going with my weird number thing, I prefer EVEN numbers to ODD numbers. I don’t know why but I just like them better, always have!

5. I hate moths, absolutely loathe them! Everything about them; their color, the way the dive bomb at you, the way they flutter, that disgusting dust that is all over them….YUCK! I hate them and will scream and freak out if they are anywhere near me.

6. Unlike most people, I like spiders.  When they are in my house, I will calmly pick them up and put them outside. They eat other bugs like moths, so they are my friend!

7. God has lead me to where I am today! Sometimes it is crazy how blessed I am and how he provides what I need when I need it.

8. I love to read, give me a book over tv any day.

9. Never would I have thought this to happen, but I am a lot like my mother. You know that saying, “look at your  mother-in-law to know how your wife will be in 20 years” we fit that scenario. Good thing I got a good Mama to take after!

10. I have more babies in heaven then I do on earth 😦

11. I am an animal fanatic. When I was younger I use to bring home every stray animal I found and would either beg to keep it or find it a home (you know about that one, don’t ya Sara!)

12. I am the middle child, one older brother and one younger sister.

13. Believe it or not, but I use to be shy and still can be in certain situations.

14. I worry about the oddest things. I can go from one thought and turn it into a completely ridiculous never-in-a-million-years-gonna-happen sort of thing! For Example, my Dad got a gash on his leg from a rusty piece of metal. I was thinking how he should got to the doctor to get it looked at and maybe get a tetanus shot, by the end of my thought process he had gangrene and needed to have his leg amputated…I called him and told him he should go get his leg checked out.

15. This list had made me realize that I’m a little crazy, but I’m ok with that.

16.  16 is my favorite number!

17. I planted a garden this year and it actually grew. I didn’t even let it get completely infested with weeds, go me!

18. My family is my life, not just my immediate family but my extended family! Lots of people think it is strange that some of my best friends are my cousins. Many people grow away from their cousins as they become adults, but I think it has brought us closer.

19. I spent 2 weeks in Egypt studying abroad when I was in college. It was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had and I am so glad that I got to see all the sites and learn about the culture. It was such and eye-opening experience, studying abroad should be required!

20. My favorite animal is a horse.

21. I am not very persistent. As much as I would love to be, it is just not my temperament. I tend to take a bit longer at finishing things because I often get distracted by something else or just give up. Some advice I was given on this subject,  don’t look at how long it takes to finish something just look at the fact that you finished it!

22. I always want to remodel our house. When I get bored with my surroundings I start to imagine plans for additions or dream up new ideas for bathrooms and kitchens. These little urges of mine are usually ended by a quick  rearranging of a room or painting project! After a little work my want for change is put to rest.

23. The scariest day of my life, was the day my Dad had his kidney transplant. I remember that day like it was yesterday! Not only did my Dad go under the knife that day, so did my Mom.  She gave him one of her kidneys, now that is Love and devotion!

24. I have a tendency to save things. Not quite like a hoarder, but more in a sense that if it has a memory attached to it is hard to get rid of. I still have almost every note that was passed to me in high school (let me tell ya, they are quite humorous to read) and don’t even get me started on the crazy things that I have saved from my kids so far!

25. My children are my best creation! Everything about them is wonderful, even if they can be little sh**s sometimes!

26. I sing A LOT! Some days I make up songs, some days it is kids music and other days it is like I hit shuffle on my iPod and who knows what’s coming next! Hayden will often tell me to stop singing because I sing at the top of my lungs.  What I lack in talent I make up for in volume 😉

27. Daisies are my favorite flowers! My Grandma LaRayne used to have oodles of daisies on her farm and because of that I have always loved them!

28. I sometimes talk to myself, like actually talk out loud!  I will be thinking something and then out it comes. Sometimes it’s a question, other times it’s a statement but in most cases I have children with me so I just pretend I’m talking to them. I don’t want everyone to know I’m nuts, although this post probably just spilled the beans!

29. I like to make to-do-lists and often put things on that I have already done, just so I can check something off.

Wow, that was harder than I thought it was going to be and I hope it did not make me sound completely crazy!
Happy Golden Birthday to me! 30 is just around the corner and I say bring it on!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 5:58 am

    Happy Birthday and what a great list. It was also my gold birthday this year and 2 of my kids. What a great year 😉

  2. August 31, 2011 1:08 pm

    It must be the year of the golden Birthday for lots of people because I know a few as well who had there golden Birthdays! Hope you guys had a fun summer! our was, but went by way to fast!

Leave a Reply

