Skip to content

Drop it & Do it!

March 28, 2012

The fabulous Alicia @ La Famille has started a weekly task called the Happy Day Challenge and I just love this idea! As of late, I have been kind of lacking in the motivation department, mostly due to my demanding stay-at-home-mom gig while being preggo with twins. I used to plan projects, trips and activities for my children to keep them busy and allow me to get stuff done as well. Lately, all I have really felt like doing is sitting on my butt and reading! The extra 25lbs I have gained from this pregnancy is really making my body ache, so laziness has won more often than not lately!

Last Friday, while Elliot was napping, I was reading my book outside while Hayden played. He has begged for weeks for me to get out his art easel and paints so he can paint but I kept putting it off because I didn’t want to deal with the mess. I was reading away enjoying the sunshine and watching Hayden play, when he came and asked me if I would play with him. The thought of trying to waddle around the yard and play with him stressed me out a little, so I suggested we get his paints out. He loved that idea!!

I dropped my book set up his easel and he painted for almost 2 hours!! Painting after painting was laid out to dry and the fun he was having was so worth the 10 minutes it took to take out and clean up!! Thanks Alicia, I really needed that as mush as more poor, neglected son did!!

I cannot wait until summer, when my Mom will be able to help me more. Right now, I am struggling with my everyday tasks and feel like such a horrible Mom, but days like this when I can see my kids enjoying themselves helps me realize why I stay home and why I am welcoming two more in August! It is going to be a long hot Summer and I’m just going to get bigger, but it will all be worth it!!

Thanks Alicia, this little challenge has opened my eyes a little bit!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. rachinhishands permalink
    March 28, 2012 11:38 am

    He looks so happy! My little sweetie loves to paint too, but I cringe sometimes about all that mess. I like that you did it outside! Nice work, mama.

  2. March 28, 2012 2:34 pm

    ok…um…where the HECK have I been!?!?!?! twins!?!? what???? geesh, you’d think i left the planet!!
    oh girl, i can’t imagine how you feel, but i’m so glad you painted with your baby. i’m sure you know your life is about to get super duper crazy…take all those moments you can! that’s just awesome: painting in the sunlight. beautiful…HAPPY! love that!
    thanks so much for linking up and i’m sorry sorry for my dumbness :-/ congrats, sweet one 🙂

  3. March 28, 2012 2:37 pm

    did my comment not just post?? ok, this may be a total repeat, but anyways….

    ummmm….ok, where have i been!!?!?! twins!!?!?! holy hannah, my friend!! i feel like i’m so out of the loop! sorry for my dumbness :-/ congrats, sweet one.

    and SOOO glad you got outside to paint with your guy. i’m sure you know your life is about to get super duper busy, so take all those painting moments you can! painting in the sunlight…beautimous! HAPPY! thanks so much for linking up!

    • March 28, 2012 5:40 pm

      Yes, my life is going to get a lot more chaotic, but we are so blessed!! Don’t worry if you feel out of the loop, it is hard to keep up with everyone having babies these days!! I really enjoy reading your blog, it inspires me to get off my butt and do something!! Thanks for sharing your family with us, it is so beautiful!

  4. Kendra permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:17 pm

    Did he use the painting stuff I got him for Christmas?!

    • March 28, 2012 5:36 pm

      yes, kendra it was the stuff you gave him for Christmas! He made a picture for you to say thank you, he really enjoyed himself!!

  5. March 29, 2012 8:34 pm

    awww! this is precious!
    i was totally challenged by this weeks ‘challenge’ too!
    🙂
    have a great week.
    xo

Trackbacks

  1. organize something: happy day challenge #4 | Alicia Hutchinson
  2. organize something: happy day challenge #4 | Investing Love

Leave a Reply

