Skip to content

Day 23

July 2, 2012

Today is day 23 of bed rest, the past ten of which I got to spend at home! I have had time to update, but for some reason I just can’t get myself to do it!

After 13 days of hospital bed rest, my docs decided it was okay for me to go home and continue my bed rest. This was due to a couple factors. First, I had several days where there were no contractions or just a few sporadic ones. Second, they checked me and I had gone from 4cm dilated to 2 cm :), this was awesome news, the bed rest is working! Third, I was not on any medications to stop labor so there was really no reason to keep me other than monitoring the  contractions.  So my doc made the decision to let me go home!

I got to go home at the same time as Nick, since he had just finished up his AT for the National Guard. He got the boys and picked me up & we were reunited as a family! I must say though, bed rest at home is a little more challenging than in the hospital. It is harder to try to stay put because I so want to be a part of everything going on.  Although, I usually end up feeling stressed out watching my boys so I end up back in my bed. Thank God my mom has been here to help out, I really do not know what I would do with out her!

Last week, we had another growth scan to see how the babies are doing. It was good to see the little babes again, but we got some not so good news. Baby A is starting to show signs of growth restriction, but only in his abdomen. His growth was still over all in the 25% percentile, but his abdominal cavity was only in the 10% percentile. So we are going to start to monitor him a little more closely. He also only gained a few oz in 2 weeks. He went from 3lb 9oz to 3lbs 12oz, which really is not very much at all.

Baby B is doing great. She is still growing well, although she did not gain very much in 2 weeks either. She went from 3lbs 15oz to 4lbs 4oz. They do not seem to be concerned about her at all though, so that is one less thing to worry about. I’m just glad that they are still in!


I am now 33 weeks and 1 day pregnant and every day I keep these babies in is 2-3 days less they will spend in the NICU. I pray I can make it to 36 or 37 weeks so they may not need to go there at all! I guess we will see when these little babes want to make their appearance. Hopefully, it will not be for awhile yet!!

My next post will be about the wonderful Birthday party we had for Elliot on Saturday the 30th. The pics in this post are from that party, I just had to many to share in just one post. I still cannot believe that he is 2 years old already, it really does go fast and soon we will have 2 more little babes that are going to grow up way to fast!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

