Skip to content

a gift for Hannah

October 3, 2012

My niece Hannah, turned 3 yesterday and is having a her Birthday party this coming weekend. Since I only have one girl and she is only 11 weeks old, I love to shop for all things girly for my niece. This year for her Birthday I could not decide what to get her. I mean, she has a lot of clothes and a million toys…I wanted to get her something special! While browsing  around the Salvation Army (in search of Monster parts for Halloween) I came across this beaut! This adorable little vanity (with a mirror that is not pictured) would be perfect for her and at only $30 it was so worth it. My mind went into overload on what I could do with this little piece and I remembered a blog that I frequently check out called Sawdust and Embryos (check it out when you get a chance). The gal and her husband redo furniture and often use a finish called technique glazing (which I recently tried on a side table for my couch & it is AWESOME) and I thought it would be perfect for this vanity!

The first thing I did was clean it up and sand it, Then I primed it and painted it with spray paint (way faster than brush painting and gives it a nice smooth look). The color I chose was called Watermelon and it made it this nice bright pink. I did not take pics of the whole process, but here is what I came up with.

I ended up leaving more glaze on then I was intending because quite frankly, I did not have enough spray paint to cover it thoroughly! there were a few places where you could still see the primer, but the dark glaze took care of that. I also really liked the hardware so I decided to just spray paint it black and reuse it.

I really hope that Hannah likes her new vanity. There was a lot of love put into it!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    October 3, 2012 9:16 pm

    It is gorgeous! I love the hardware too!

  2. Amie permalink
    October 4, 2012 11:00 am

    That is awesome Kim!!! I hope she LOVES it!!! Where do you get these ideas?? amie

Leave a Reply

