Skip to content

Share the Chair

December 6, 2012

Hello! It has been such a long time since I have posted anything so I thought I would share the chair that I re-did for Elliot. He does not like to sit in booster seats, is to small for a regular chair and refuses to use a high chair with a tray so I needed to find a something else for him to use. I was on Craigslist one day and I came across this high chair that did not have a tray anymore. I really liked the look of it and it looked like the perfect height to fit up to the table. So $20 that bad boy was mine!

IMG_6793

 

Sure is a good looking chair huh? Well I bought it with the intention of making it our own, but have had it a few months now. So anyways this past week it has been very nice out and Elliot was at Grandma’s and didn’t need his chair so I got to work on it! First I sanded it and cleaned it up.

IMG_6796

 

Then I primed it and picked the color that I wanted it. Peek-a-boo blue was the color or choice. Spray painting is so much easier and looks so much smoother. Isn’t this just the sweetest thing!

IMG_6798

After it was dry I toned it down a bit by technique glazing it and put a coat of poly on it to make it easier to clean up and protect it. I’m not going to lie, this is one of my favorite looks, I love that it still looks kind of old and beat up.  If I could do this to all my furniture, I probably would!

IMG_6804

And there you have it! Elliot’s new chair…well old but newly painted chair. I just love how it turned out and he was so excited to use it.  Aren’t you glad I shared the chair!

PS. I have also started refinishing frame and may start a little Etsy shop with some of my fun home decor stuff I have been making…we will see if that happens! My kiddos seem to be keeping me pretty busy, but a girl can dream, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

