Skip to content

Elliot

October 23, 2013

My second child is challenging! I mean make you want to pull your hair out, scream in a pillow and cry all at the same time kind of challenging. He can be kind, loving and absolutely hilarious, but that kid disappears from time to time and leaves me with dare I repeat my mother-in-law’s words…Helliot! My mother in law tells me time and time again how much he is like Nick when he was little. Nick’s daycare provider growing up went as far as to say that my Hubby sprouted horns! So yes, I definitely see where Elliot gets it, even if he is missing his Dad’s red hair 😉

_MG_9746 5x7

Since the twins came into the picture his naughtiness factor has tripled which I do not blame him for. He had just turned 2 years old when they came into the picture stealing a lot of Nick’s and my time and attention. as the babies get older I have been able to designate parts of the day to doing stuff with him. This helps most of the time, but some days I just do not know what to do with him.

_MG_9698 lrg

I feel like public areas, like the library or church, are where “Helliot” really likes to come out. Story hour is on Thursday mornings and can often be exhausting experiences. The first time went well because we were the only family there, the second time was NOT GOOD and the third time was a little better! I know most parents can relate to me when they see him messing around and being wild while he is supposed to be sitting still and listening. It is the pinching and poking the babies to make them cry, the kicking and hitting me when I try to discipline him for the previous actions and the early exit because of the major scene/meltdown that is disrupting all the other children sitting and listening so nicely…the second time was NOT GOOD! I am praying that tomorrow will be easy-going 🙂

_MG_9734 lrg

Sometimes I just wish he could show his good side to everyone. He is so funny and such a little lover. Several times a day he will list all the people that he loves. Just to remind me that he loves me and our family SO much! He is also very independent and loves to have chores to do. He helps me load and unload the dishwasher and washing machine. His big jobs are to feed the dog and make his bed everyday and most days he does these things with little nagging (unlike Hayden). Elliot is also very, very smart! He knows all his shapes, numbers and letters. He has a mind like a sponge and remembers stuff that I have long forgot about. All these great things about this little boy and what people most remember or see is his stinkerness!

_MG_9745 edit lrg

So I am letting you all know that even though you may only see him as a wild child who is down right crazy, he is more than that. I get to see him at his best which is better and more important than his “Helliot” side. Be jealous of the person he is growing up to be, because this little boy is more than what many adults are these days. He is independent, determined, funny and loving! All these qualities are challenging for a child who has to share his mommy and daddy with three other kids, but are qualities make him an amazing person. I love you, Elliot Alan, life would be so boring without you 🙂

_MG_9689

“I knew when I met you, an adventure was going to happen”
-Winnie the Pooh

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

