Skip to content

Our food is not weird, yours is

November 5, 2013

Well it finally started, Hayden’s classmates think his food is weird. He came home all worked up because some of his friends made fun of the wild rice casserole that I sent in his lunch that day. They said it looked gross and could not believe that he ate it. He begged me to start letting him eat the school’s lunch so people will stop asking him what he is eating and making fun of it. I, of course, said “no” to this plea and tried my hardest to explain to him why. So I guess this is why…Because quite frankly I do not know what in is those school lunches!  _MG_0486

many people may or may not know this about us, but we eat clean. What does that mean you ask? It basically means, we eat very little processed foods and try to eat foods that are whole by nature. I do still buy some organic snack crackers or Larabars every now and again, but for the most part I make everything from scratch. I make whole wheat bread every couple of days and we stay away from anything that has salt, sugar or white flour. We still eat these types of food but we substitute seas salt, raw sugar and whole wheat flour instead of the “white” over processed versions mentioned above. Our family has not always been this way, but since I discovered the documentary “Hungry for Change” on Netflix I was shocked into cleaning up our diet!_MG_0453

Sometimes it is hard and we cheat when there are no other options available but more often than not we eat healthy whole foods. We also do not make people cater to our way of eating so if we are eating away from home we eat what is served to us. No one likes a picky house guest who turns their nose up at the food offered, so that is something we would never do. My kids still occasionally do that when I served them a meal but it is few and far between. We have a three bite rule that they have to try everything on their plate. Many foods you have to try a couple of times before you can really decide if you like the flavor or not. That is one thing that is nice about this style of eating, it opens you up to so many foods that you may otherwise ignore!_MG_0462

I am proud of the way we eat and am thankful that I learned so much more about food. Since we have switched to our clean eating many things have improved in our lives.  I have lost almost 20 pounds and this has been on what I eat alone (I tried Insanity for 3 weeks but I just hate working out).  We have rarely been sick since our diet consists of a lot of fruits and vegetables (the twins just had their first sickness last week since our diet change in April). My energy level is higher and I do not feel tired all the time, well when I sleep at night anyways. The thing that I like best is how much I enjoy preparing and eating food! I love trying new recipes and tweaking them to make them our family favorites. Food, to me, is a whole different thing then it use be. It is not something I use for comfort or to do when I am board, I eat for the nutrients most of the time. We generally do have one treat a week because I still have an ice cream weakness, but for the most part I am proud to be learning and teaching my kids about what they put into their bodies!_MG_0167

After my conversation with Hayden about how I make all his food with love,  he was accepting of our food and okay with me still making his lunches. I told him next time to just gross them out on purpose and they will think you are tough and cool for eating things that are different! Hope that advice does not come back to bite me in the rear!

_MG_0493 glare

“You are what you eat, so don’t be fast, cheap, easy or fake.”
-unknown

Please check out 100 days of real food if you want to learn more about eating clean 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2013 4:55 pm

    awesome story Kim!! you can make homemade ice cream too 🙂

    • November 5, 2013 10:35 pm

      I have some recipes for homemade ice cream that is clean eating standards, but my ice cream maker died 😦

Leave a Reply

