Skip to content

Thankful Part 2

November 28, 2013

Today is Thanksgiving, there is so much to be thankful for! It is amazing that even when times are tough all you have to do is look around and you can always find something to be grateful for. Here is my next 15, enjoy this with a little pecan pie…Things are always better with pie 🙂

16.) South Dakota; I am so thankful to have grown up in a state that is conservative, has changing seasons and that has people who are kind and considerate of others. Don’t get me wrong we have the bad too, but over all I think this is such a wonderful place to grow up and now I am raising my family here too.

17.) My parent’s house; The place that no matter where we are in life always feels like home to me. Nick often gets confused because I refer to my hometown as home, my parent’s house as home and our house at home…what can I say, these three places are comforting to me and feel like HOME!

18.) Freedom; I often see on the news places with very little rights and freedoms. It breaks my heart that even now, in these modern times, that people are still repressed and not thought of equally. I am thankful for my soldier husband and all the people to help keep us free!

19.) Technology; although sometimes it malfunctions and does not work properly is had made keeping in touch and life in general so much more easy! I was just thinking about when we were in high school and needed to meet a friend we would pick a spot and pray that they were going to be on time or else you wandered around looking for them (which usually meant you would miss them) or just waited not know if they were coming or not! My cell phone keeps these things from happening.

20.) Knowledge; who isn’t thankful for this?! I am so grateful that I have come to love learning and do so everyday!

21.) Books; they help me learn, entertain me, prepare my mind for sleep, let me live lives that I would never have, and teach me to mourn (since my book always ends and my characters are gone forever).

22.) Modern medicine; in about one weeks time R will be getting his kidney from P’s sister. I am so thankful that this is even and option or we would have had to say goodbye way before any of us were ready too. They can do just about anything these days and I am so grateful that doctors continue to learn and advance!

23.) Dave Ramsey; this man has taught me so much about money and even life! I am thankful that my husband and I work together to figure out our finances. “We live like no one else, so later we can live like no one else.”

24.) Blue; my favorite color! For so reason I am drawn to it and it makes me feel good…so yes I am thankful for blue 🙂

25.) Facebook; although I can sometimes find myself wasting so much time checking out Facebook, I am still thankful for it. I love being able to keep up with old and new friends. Sometimes our lives get so busy that these friendships fizzle out and disappear, Facebook helps us all stay connected!

26.) Pinterest; again something that I waste way to much time on, but that makes being creative so much fun! One thing that I don’t like is that sometimes I don’t know if something is my idea or something I saw on Pinterest!

27.) Coffee; a day just does not begin until I have a nice steamy cup of joe!

28.) Horses; such beautiful animals and something I have loved since I was a little girl

29.) God; anything and everything is possible because of Him. I am thankful that our heavenly Father is kind and forgiving for I am human and sin. His kingdom is where I will be someday and I am so blessed to know Him and his teachings.

30.) Pie; life is so much sweeter with pie!

Hope your thanksgiving is full of family, friends and food! Have a Blessed day!!

IMG_0159

“Thanksgiving is the holiday that encompasses all others. All of them, from Martin Luther King Day to Arbor Day to Christmas to Valentine’s Day, are in one way or another about being thankful.”
― Jonathan Safran Foer, Eating Animals

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

